Raku was discovered in Korea then developed in Japan in the middle of the 16th century with the aim of making the bowls used in the tea ceremony. This technique appeals to the 4 elements, earth, air, fire, and water. The word Raku contains in its meaning the notions of enjoyment, ease and happiness.


Clay pottery is cooked at a temperature of 1000 degrees for approximately 30 minutes. The fired piece is removed from the hot kiln and put directly into water and then filled with smoke from shavings of wood, straw or even  paper. The big difference in temperature allows the pieces to crack as well as the process of post fire reduction. The multitude of the parameters involved allows the potter to obtain an infinitive variety of results, which confers to the completely hand-made piece, the quality of a "one-of-a-kind" object.





Stage by stage



    The Earth


Creation of the characters in stoneware (granular greyish earth). A first baking of the pieces is made in a traditional  pottery kiln. Enamels are painted on with a brush, which allows the  pieces to be tinted.




The Fire


A second baking in 1000 degrees, every fired piece is removed from the kiln by means of tongs and put into tins filled with wood shavings. The grip of the fire is made thanks to wood shavings, by covering the object entirely so that the flames divide up.





The Air


Closure of tins with a lid. It is very important to seal the air inside the tins to suffocate the fire. This moment is called oxidation. It is one of the most important moments because it is then that the cracking increases or not.









The Water


The piece is sprayed with water.

With some sand, cleaning of the piece using a scraper.




With the technique of Raku, every piece obtained is a "one-of-a-kind" object.